Task Force Helmand

Task Force Helmand is the name given to United Kingdom-led forces in Helmand Province, southern Afghanistan. It has responsibility for the Nahr-e Saraj, Nad-e Ali and Lashkar Gah districts.

Additionally, the task force has an advisory role to both the Afghan National Army (3/215 Brigade) and the Afghan National Police within Helmand, for which it also provides training. Task Force Helmand was established in April 2006 and contains approximately 5,500 personnel.

Operation HERRICK 14 which is led by Headquarters 3 Commando Brigade Royal Marines, supported by elements of 7th Armoured Brigade, took over from 16 Air Assault Brigade in April 2011. The Brigade is currently commanded by Brigadier Ed Davis, OBE.

Current units deployed under Task Force Helmand as part of Regional Command Southwest are:

 3 Commando Brigade Headquarters, Royal Marines

42 Commando Royal Marines including members of the Maritime Reserve

45 Commando Royal Marines including members of the Maritime Reserve

Commando Logistic Regiment, Royal Marines

Elements of The Royal Scots Dragoon Guards (Carabiniers and Greys)

Elements of 9th/12th Lancers (Prince of Wales’s)

29 Commando Regiment Royal Artillery

24 Commando Engineer Regiment

4th Battalion The Royal Regiment of Scotland, The Highlanders

3rd Battalion The Mercian Regiment

2nd Battalion The Royal Gurkha Rifles

1st Battalion The Rifles

Elements of 1 & 3 Regiments, Army Air Corps

Elements of 11 Explosive Ordnance Disposal Regiment, The Royal Logistic

2 Close Support Battalion, Royal Electrical and Mechanical Engineers

Number 6 Royal Air Force, Force Protection Wing Headquarters

58 Squadron, Royal Air Force Regiment

617 Squadron, Royal Air Force

31 Squadron, Royal Air Force